Virtual Signatures

As promised, here are the instructions for submitting a “virtual signature” for the banner.  A “virtual signature” is one that you write and send to me electronically to print out and attach to the banner.

Here’s how to do it –
1) Think up what you want to say to Stéphane – whatever you would have written on the banner in person.
2) Write it in your own handwriting on plain white paper. Use a gel pen or marker – ball-point pen is too fine and light to print out very well.  Drawing pictures and using different colors of ink are good! Bigger lettering is better than too small – if it’s too big I can reduce the size before printing it, but if it’s too small it might not look good if I enlarge it.
3) Either scan the paper or take a picture of it, to get it into .gif, .jpg., or .bmp format. The higher the resolution you use, the better your "signature" will come out.
4) Upload the gif/jpg/bmp file to Photobucket, ImageShack, or other online service capable of storing pictures.
5) Send me a PM or e-mail with a link to the gif/jpg/bmp file.  I go by swissmiss on Absolute Skating, FSU, and FSVids, and swissmissvids on YouTube.

As I receive the files, I’ll print them out on printable fabric sheets.  I’ll arrange them and glue them onto the shiny side of the signature panel – the side you can’t write on.

The “Poeta” banner also had virtual signatures.  I made a special panel that I attached to the back of the banner, in a place that was hard to sign because of all the sequins glued to the reverse side.  It’s the bright white section surrounded by red ribbon:

 

The title:

 

Swiss Nationals

After two months “off”, the banner made another appearance, this time at the Swiss National Championships in Lugano.  Stéphane won for the ninth time!  There was no TV coverage of the event except for a couple of segments on the local news.  Here are some screenshots:

A close-up of my friend’s banner – you can see a little piece of mine next to it.

Until next time –

sm 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment